What is the General Synod?

What is the Synod?

The General Synod is the national assembly of the Church of England. It was formed in 1970 to replace an earlier body known as the Church Assembly.

Who sits on it?

A three-tier system consisting of the House of Bishops, the House of Clergy and the House of Laity. There are currently 467 members in total.

What powers does it have?

  • Passes what are known as Measures, which, if approved by Parliament and receive Royal assent, become part of English Law.
  • Regulates the Church’s relations with other churches and makes provision for worship and doctrine matters.
  • Passes Canons (the Church’s ecclesiastical laws and regulations) determining doctrine and the form of worship
  • Approves the Church’s liturgy and makes other rules and regulations through Acts of Synod
  • Considers and expresses the Church’s opinion on any matters of religious or public interest
  • Approves or reject the central Church annual budget

One thought on “What is the General Synod?

Please post a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: